Close this search box.

The Judging for the 2014 Awards

This is an archived article - we have removed images and other assets but have left the text unchanged for your reference

Thank you for agreeing to Judge the 2014 Internet Retailing Awards. We’ve made all judging online this year: the nominations, supporting evidence and the judging itself. If you’re in a hurry, skip to the voting here.

In a nutshell:

• review each category and rank your choices. You can select up to three candidates, ranked first, second and third choice. You do not have to select more than one though.

• On Wednesday will will announce the leading “cluster” in each award as the shortlist. One of these will of course be your chosen winner, but we won’t tell anyone until the awards.

•any questions, please let Ian ( / 07776 2078308) or Aaron (aaron@internetretailing) know.


These Awards are for retailers, whether online pure-play, multichannel or any variant in between. There is also a Service Sector Award, in its inaugural year in 2014.

While there is much innovation within the supplier market, and indeed disruptive business models aplenty, we’re taking the definition of ‘retailer’ as a business that sells directly to consumers and takes their money directly for products or services. The principle exclusions therefore would be marketplaces and exchanges and software/service layers that empower other businesses. For either of these the Award eligibility is for the retailers who use those services themselves.


The focus on the Awards is the UK and Europe. As such ‘International’ is for UK and European retailers who have succeeded to sell cross-border and internationally from their ‘home’ or founding market.


Our thanks to Venda (as title sponsor of the Awards).

[show-irdx vven]


There are 12 Awards.

The Judges vote in 10 categories from a long-list, putting the list in order or preference so that winners emerge.

The Judges then have the Best Retailer Award – this is entirely at the discretion and enthusiasm of the Judges. PLEASE tell us your candidate and we will discuss and vote on Tuesday 13th when we meet.

Information and Judging

Each Award notes the criteria, the candidates (with reasons and research references) and is followed by a place to vote. As you finish each section you’ll move to the next.

The Awards are:

  1. The Innovation Award – start here

  2. The Omni Award

  3. The Mobile Award

  4. The IRIS Award

  5. The Customer Award

  6. The Capability Award

  7. The International Award

  8. The Market Entry Award

  9. The Service Sector Award

  10. The Brand Award

  11. The Best Retailer Award (please tell us who you think should get this and why – we’ll vote on this in the meeting on Tuesday)

  12. The Internet Retailing Award 2014 as voted for by the readers.


THANK you once more. The 10 Awards will take between 6 minutes and 90 minutes, depending upon how much of the material you read and how certain you are of your favoured “one” when you see them. Whether 6 or 90, thanks again for your time and expertise and we look forward to seeing and sharing the results!

Read More

Register for Newsletter

Group 4 Copy 3Created with Sketch.

Receive 3 newsletters per week

Group 3Created with Sketch.

Gain access to all Top500 research

Group 4Created with Sketch.

Personalise your experience on